• Tomasz Janowski appointed as Co-Chair of the W3C EGOV Interest Group
  • 21 June 2012

Tomasz Janowski, UNU-IIST Senior Research Fellow and Head of the Center for Electronic Governance was appointed as co-chair of the e-Government Interest Group at the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). He will play this role together with Jeanne Holm, Chief Knowledge Architect at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

W3C is the main international standards organization for the World Wide Web, www.w3c.org. Founded by Tim Berners-Lee at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the consortium is made up of member organizations which maintain full-time staff for the purpose of working together in the development of standards for the Web. W3C also engages in education and outreach, develops software and serves as an open forum for discussion about the Web. The mission of the W3C eGovernment Interest Group is to build and strengthen the community of people who use or promote the use of W3C technologies to improve the working of government, including essential areas of technology and related policy issues.