• ICEGOV2012 concludes in Albany, New York, USA
  • 25 October 2012

The 6th International Conference on Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance, ICEGOV2012, took place in Albany, New York, USA from 22 to 25 October 2012. The conference was organized under the patronage of the United States National Archives and Records Administration by the Center for Technology in Government, State University at Albany, in collaboration with the UNU-IIST Center for Electronic Governance as the founder and coordinator of the ICEGOV series.

The Center established the ICEGOV conference series in 2007 to bridge Electronic Governance research, policy and practice in order to further public policy and sustainable development objectives. The series focuses on the use of technology to transform relationships between government and citizens, businesses, civil society and other arms of government. It looks beyond the traditional focus on technology-enabled transformation in government towards new forms, new paradigms, and new foundations for technology-enabled governance, collaboration and sustainable development. Each conference provides a platform for discussion and experience-sharing between researchers from informatics, public administration, political science, sociology, economy and other disciplines; and policy makers, solution developers and other stakeholders of technology-enabled governance. Previous ICEGOV conferences took place in Macao (ICEGOV2007), Cairo (ICEGOV2008), Bogota (ICEGOV2009), Beijing (ICEGOV2010) and Tallinn (ICEGOV2011).

ICEGOV2012 was attended by over 400 participants from government, academic and private sector from 64 countries: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroun, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Spain, St. Lucia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom and USA; including ministers, directors, managers, professors, lecturers, researchers, doctoral students, journalists and others.

Albany Mayor Jerry Jennings said “We are proud to be the host city for this important conference and welcome all its international attendees”. According to Beth Simone Noveck, Professor of Law at the New York Law School and former United States Deputy Chief Technology Officer “This conference gives us an excellent and unique opportunity to learn from experts in other countries as well as other sectors” while Kim McKinney, Chief Operations Officer at the New York State Office of Information Technology Services said "ICEGOV presents an incredible opportunity for us to learn about public sector innovations occurring around the world while showcasing the great work in New York State".

ICEGOV2012 focused on the topic of Open Innovation, discussed by the speakers from: New York State Government, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), United States Department of Transport, Open Forum Foundation, World Bank, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA), United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UNESCWA), United Nations University (UNU) and many others. Continuing the ICEGOV tradition, the conference featured a rich academic, capacity-building and network-building program comprising among others six plenary sessions on: open data, open government, information stewardship and management, smart cities and urban development, women in technology and development, and the future of government in the digital age.

In addition to invited contributions, ICEGOV2012 issued an open call for research papers, case studies, short case studies and posters. In response to the call, the conference received 166 submissions from 68 countries. Following a rigorous peer-review process, 23 of them were accepted as completed research, 10 as completed practice and policy work, 24 as ongoing research, 14 as ongoing practice and policy work, and 36 as posters, tutorials and demonstrations. The acceptance rate for ICEGOV2012 was 34%. All accepted submissions were included, in revised form, in the conference proceedings published by ACM Press, and presented during 18 paper, poster and tutorial sections. The authors of selected papers were also invited to submit extended versions of their submissions to appear in the special issue of the Government Information Quarterly, published by Elsevier.

The UNU-IIST Centre for Electronic Governance contributed to ICEGOV2012 as the founder and coordinator of the ICEGOV series, and through concrete contributions to the conference program and organization by its staff: 1) Tomasz Janowski – founder and coordinator of the ICEGOV series, member of the Steering and Programme Committees, and moderator of the “Future of Government in the Digital Age” keynote and panel; 2) Adegboyega Ojo – Programme Committee Co-Chair, contributor to the “Smart City” session, and chair of the “Integration through e-Governance in the UNESCWA region” session; 3) Elsa Estevez – member of the Programme Committee, co-organizer of the doctoral colloquium, and paper session chair; and 4) Zamira Dzhusupova – member of the Programme Committee, co-organizer of the “Bridging the North-South Gap in ICT-enabled Policy Modeling & Governance” session and paper session chair.

More information about the conference is available here